Types of SSL Certificates — LetsHostTalk - Web Hosting Forum

Types of SSL Certificates

  1. Domain validation SSL certificate 

  2. Organization-validated SSL certificate 

  3. Extended validated SSL certificate 

  4. Wildcard SSL certificate 

  5. Multi-Domain SSL certificate 

Understanding all kinds of SSL certificates is important when doing anything on the website which involves your personal data. And if you are still confused about choosing which ssl certificate is perfect for your website might be a huge loss for your website privacy, so lets us understand all the ssl certificate in detail. 

There are basically 5 types of SSL certificates let's discuss them one by one

  • Domain validation SSL certificate - Domain Validation SSL certificate represents a basic level of SSL certificate they are the perfect ones for any website. In the validation process, they simply require the identity of the person or the company running the website. The Website that uses DV SSL Certificates will only show the domain name in the subject field of the certificate details.  

  • Organization Validated SSL certificate - Organization-validated SSL certificate is one step ahead of Domain validation SSL certificate. To receive a certificate your organization or company must undergo a light business vetting process. OV certificate is similarly signed in similar same ways as the DV SSL certificate. This also makes it one of the most ideal options for an ecommerce website. 

  • Extended validated SSL certificate - Extended validated SSL certificate is the most trustworthy SSL certificate. An extended validated SSL certificate does an in-depth validation of Ownership, legal existence, physical location, and more. When issuing an EV Certificate, CA examines and verifies all the business's important information and cross-checks if it's legal or not. 

  • Wildcard SSL certificate - Wildcard SSL certificate is used to secure the main domain and an unlimited number of subdomains under the main domain. They are specially designed to encrypt one domain and all its accompanying subdomains. 

  • Multi-Domain SSL certificate - It is a jack of all trades, a multi-domain SSL certificate secures and also can encrypt upto 250 different domains and unlimited sub-domains. This kind of SSL certificate is ideal for organizations that are running multiple websites. 

Hope this information was helpful!

Sign In or Register to comment.